Brain on Fire

Hello readers! It feels great to finally be posting on my very own blog, something that I have dreamed about having for quite some time. It is also quite amusing how my first post is a book review, as reading has been one of my all time favorite things to do ever since I was a kid.

So I’ve picked up this book a few days ago to have a “Spring Break Book.” A “Spring Break Book” to me is a good read to pick up during Spring Break while tanning, relaxing, or going on road trips. Basically, something to do while relaxing over Spring Break (that is, if you’re not into the party scene or are taking a break before going ham tonight.) While I was in Georgia visiting some friends, I stopped by Target to get some essentials and couldn’t stop myself from going to the magazine/book isle. This book caught my eye very quickly. There was something about her, maybe it was the look in her eyes or the cover itself that intrigued me. So I skimmed through it and it and in 0.5 seconds I knew I had to buy it.

Now I don’t know about you, but when I read a realllly good book, it becomes very difficult to put it down. I develop this kind of obsessive disorder where I don’t want to do anything except read the book. I get so emerged and excited that I cannot wait to read the ending and so it becomes a sort of race to see how much I can get through in one sitting. What I’m trying to say is, this was one of those books.

Brain on Fire, written by the ever so talented reporterSussanah Cahalan, is a true story that happened to her explaining, medically, how her brain went on fire. In this narrative, she explains how she was almost diagnosed as psychotic, her descent to madness, and finding her way back. With the help of a team of medical experts, of course. Although she does not remember that time of her life very well as she was basically a different person, this book is a combination of interviews, vague recollections, friends and family members’ diaries and journals. She talks about how hard it is for a person to not have a diagnosis and the suffering they go through in the midst of all the “craziness.”

Simply put, it was like watching an episode of House through the eyes of the patient. I highly recommend it, as it was one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. It was captivating, exciting, and most of all; real.

I had a wonderful time writing this blog and I hope you enjoy it at least half as much as I enjoyed writing it. 🙂

Bisous

-SH

photo-2

So, what do you think?

